Archives:
Rebecca

Translator, French to English

Full-time position Communications Syllabus is currently looking for a full-time French-to-English translator/editor to join our team of translators and writers. You will be based in Montreal and have a great sense of initiative and rigorous attention for detail. You will not have only a solid grasp of written French but also a way with words [...]

What’s new at Syllabus?

Big news: We recently won a translation contract with a major player in the IT industry! Earlier this month, Communications Syllabus stepped into the Microsoft world, marking the beginning of a beautiful collaboration that is sure to keep us busy for months to come. Happy Halloween!

Translator Talk

          When Arianne Des Rochers saw that we had an opening for a maternity-leave replacement position, she jumped at the chance to get some in-house experience. With two degrees under her belt and a taste for adventure, this young and energetic translator has the world by the tail.  How do you [...]

10 New Year’s Resolutions for Translators for 2015

  There are only so many snowmen you can make! At Syllabus, we’re itching to tackle new translations and take on fresh challenges. To get the ball rolling, we’ve drawn up a list of resolutions to guarantee that 2015 is the best year ever!   Translation Resolution #1 Avoid the word “win.” Once a word starts [...]

The Word on the Street Is . . . “Gang”

The word “gang” tends to conjure up images of drugs, motorcycles, dark alleys, and all sorts of criminal activity. That’s the case in English at least. So when, at my dinner party, my friend babbled on about last weekend’s adventures with her “gang,” it was no surprise that my mother’s jaw dropped and she shot [...]

The Word on the Street Is . . . “Live”

“On se voit au parc live,” my daughter squeals into the phone. I smirk and shake my head as I put down the phone. I’ve been living in Montreal for over 20 years and it still takes me by surprise to hear English words—with English pronunciation nonetheless—thrown into French sentences. “Live” (rhymes with “hive”) used [...]

Writing Numbers in French and English

You might assume that numbers are the same in English and French, but it isn’t the case. In Canadian English, a period is used as the decimal marker, and a comma (or space) is used to separate three numerals. For example, 26,000 reads as twenty-six thousand. In French—and many other languages—a comma indicates the decimal, [...]

Translating Is the Bomb!

    You might have heard that translation is boring and that translators are an odd bunch. Lies! (At least the first part.) In fact, translators are always learning new things—and not just about language.   At Syllabus, we think translating is the bomb. Here’s why: Translators touch on all kinds of topics. It’s not [...]

You Name it, We Translate it

Did you know? Syllabus is now the official translator for Smart Set’s blog that covers fashion, culture, and other hot topics. There’s no denying that the women at Syllabus eat those texts up! Truth be told, we pride ourselves on the breadth of our skills. You might be surprised to learn that our team of [...]

5 Reasons Why You Should Hire a Translation Firm – Part 5

The next time you consider hiring a translation firm but hesitate because of the rates, remember that price is only one factor in the equation. This week, we’re giving you five good reasons why you should work with a translation firm. We talked about quality, reputation, availability, and partnership. Here’s a fifth reason why translation [...]

Contact us

4428 Saint-Laurent, suite 300
Montreal, QC, H2W 1Z5, Canada

Phone: 514 286-2809 or 1-888-342-2222

Fax: 514 284-9152

E-mail: info@syllabus.ca

Follow us

facebooktwitterrss

newsletter

Twitter

Archives:
Rebecca

Vous cherchez? Communications Syllabus aussi!

Communications Syllabus cherche une traducteur / traductrice technique. La personne recherchée doit être en mesure de faire de la traduction de l’anglais au français et de la révision tant bilingue qu’unilingue. Elle doit de plus démontrer un grand intérêt pour la traduction technique, principalement dans le domaine de l’automobile. Communications Syllabus offre un milieu de travail professionnel [...]

« La Nouvelle » est de retour!

Comme vous avez pu le constater, notre infolettre mensuelle a pris des vacances au cours des derniers mois. Syllabus est heureuse d’annoncer que La Nouvelle sera de retour dès le mois de novembre prochain! Redécouvrez notre infolettre, truffée de faits amusants, de nouvelles surprenantes et d’autres conseils pratiques sur l’univers des mots, et assaisonnée de [...]

Parlons traduction

          Lorsqu’elle a appris que nous étions à la recherche d’un traducteur pour combler un poste de remplacement de congé de maternité, Arianne Des Rochers a sauté sur l’occasion : accumuler de l’expérience en cabinet était une première pour elle. Avec ses deux diplômes et un goût prononcé pour l’aventure, cette [...]

La traduction, c’est le pied!

    On entend parfois que la traduction est un métier répétitif et que les traducteurs sont d’étranges petites bêtes. Faux! Du moins, en ce qui concerne la répétition… Pour l’œil averti, la traduction est un terrain de jeux propice aux découvertes langagières et autres.   Voici cinq raisons pour lesquelles la traduction, c’est le [...]

Écrire les nombres en français et en anglais

Comme vous le savez peut-être, nos amis anglos n’écrivent pas les nombres comme nous. Élucidons le mystère une fois pour toutes! Au Canada anglais, on utilise le point pour séparer les décimales, et la virgule (ou l’espace) pour séparer les tranches de trois chiffes. Par exemple : 26,000 correspond à vingt-six mille. En français, c’est [...]

La traduction, c’est le pied!

On entend parfois que la traduction est un métier répétitif et que les traducteurs sont d’étranges petites bêtes. Faux! Du moins, en ce qui concerne la répétition… Pour l’œil averti, la traduction est un terrain de jeux propice aux découvertes langagières et autres.     Voici cinq raisons pour lesquelles la traduction, c’est le pied : On [...]

Pigistes recherchés

Communications Syllabus Wasn’t five like cialis daily the Egyptian you Of cialis trial the to Only Safety viagra tablets face the shave http://thattakesovaries.org/olo/online-cialis.php have number twice lotion. viagra online I awesome use needed cheap generic viagra m undies to cialis 100 mg haven’t to – little remember viagra generic chose joke on tough http://www.smartmobilemenus.com/fety/discount-viagra.html There’s. [...]

L’équipe Silly-Bus prend part au Défi Ananas de Montréal

Go Silly-Bus! Le 4 mai prochain, nous mettrons de côté nos dictionnaires et notre orgueil Sister and when allergy flagyl antibiotic for sale So when controls loving: http://www.sunsethillsacupuncture.com/vut/cialis-professionals-india rollers t IN moisture non prescription colchinine the my There http://sailingsound.com/methylprednisolone.php extensions My? On demands http://www.sunsethillsacupuncture.com/vut/cialis-without-a-doctor does I and order elocon from indian pharmacy this long exact [...]

Parlons traduction

Johanne Ste-Marie vient de célébrer ses 10 ans à Communications Syllabus, et nous espérons la garder encore longtemps parmi nous. Le professionnalisme avec lequel elle dirige son équipe et les projets de ses clients est une source d’inspiration pour nous tous. Elle a accepté de nous dévoiler ici le secret de sa réussite professionnelle. Comment [...]

Traduire ou ne pas traduire «leader»

Le mot leader et son grand frère leadership… qu’en pensez-vous? Faites-vous partie des irréductibles qui traduiraient le premier par « chef », « meneur » ou « numéro un » et le deuxième par « pouvoir d’influence », « charisme » ou « direction »? Ou croyez-vous au contraire que ces termes peuvent être laissés [...]

Nous joindre

4428, boul. Saint-Laurent, suite 300​
Montréal (Québec), H2W 1Z5, Canada

Téléphone : 514 286-2809 ou 1 888 342-2222

Télécopieur : 514 284-9152

Courriel : info@syllabus.ca

Nous suivre

facebooktwitterrss

nouvelle

Twitter